Watch: Should Chris Ashton Have Been Cited For This Incident With Luke Marshall


Josaia Raisuqe was given a hefty suspension last week for an eye gouge on Munster captain CJ Stander.

Saracens winger Chris Ashton may count himself very lucky to have only been penalised for a similar incident against Ulster at the weekend.

Neck rolls have been a hot topic the past year with Rugby World Cup officials heavily policing them. Marshall also seems to suggest that Ashton made contact with the eyes. Referee Jerome Garces checked with his TMO however but found nothing.

“Nothing clear and dangerous for me about the finger in the eyes,” said Garces, before explaining that Ashton should still be penalised for the way he cleared out the Ulster centre.

Should Ashton consider himself lucky?

Facebook Comments
Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at [email protected]
Jason Hennessy

Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)