Wales Captain Alun Wyn Jones Reveals Teammates Overruled Him For Crucial Decision

This is a strange one.

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones wanted to kick for goal at a crucial stage in todays’ 29-13 defeat by Scotland, but says his kickers said “no.”

Rob Howley’s men opted to kick for the corner when trailing 16-13 in the 51st minute.┬áThe penalty was awarded on the Scotland 22-metre line close to the touchline, so would normally be considered well within the range of place-kickers Leigh Halfpenny and Biggar.

They were penalised at the ensuing line-out as Scotland recorded their first win over Wales since 2007.

“The kickers didn’t want to so we just went for the corner,” said Jones, who added he “would have liked to” have taken the points.”
“We didn’t do it, did we?” he added.
“And I got done for blocking at the back of the lift then, but, yeah, I would have liked to have gone for the three (points).”

The incident was more remarkable as Irish referee John Lacey could be heard saying a kick at goal had been indicated while Wales outhalfDan Biggar could be heard asking Jones if he could kick for the corner.

What do you think? Was Jones overrule or did his kickers just not back themselves?

[BBC]

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at jason@rugbylad.com
Jason Hennessy
lad  
TwitterAd

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at jason@rugbylad.com

You may also like...