Robbie Henshaw Discusses His Thinking Behind Entering Maul On Friday
“It was just me not knowing the rules and obviously we suffered as a result.”
Robbie Henshaw has openly admitted that Friday’s maul error was a result of his ignorance of the rules and has put his hands up that it was a massive error of judgement on his part.
A penalty was given against the inside centre late in Friday night’s defeat to Wales, that cost Ireland what looked like a certain try.
Henshaw joined the maul ahead of ball carrier Rory Best with Ireland moving over the tryline and referee Wayne Barnes correctly gave a crucial penalty to Wales.
“My entry wasn’t the best, instead of coming in from the side I should have come from behind and I got that wrong,” said Henshaw.
“It was just me not knowing the rules and obviously we suffered as a result.
“I thought it was turning, so I thought he [Best] was going to break out and I was potentially going to latch on to him and help him drive over.
“It was just one of those calls where I came it quite fast as well, so I didn’t really have time to re-adjust. I’ve put my hand up anyway, it was a mistake.”
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- Ronan O’Gara Receives Lengthy Ban From LNR For Touchline Incident - October 19, 2017
- Alex Lozowski Signs New Deal With Saracens - October 19, 2017
- Connacht Sign New Zealand Centre Pita Ahki - October 19, 2017