Lions Team Named For Chiefs Game

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at [email protected]
Jason Hennessy

Warren Gatland has named his Lions team to take on the Chiefs on Tuesday.

Rory Best will captain a new starting line-up as the Lions look to further build momentum towards the 1st Test following victory over the Maori All Blacks in Rotorua.

British & Irish Lions (v Chiefs, Tuesday June 20, FMG Stadium, Waikato, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST):

15. Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales

14. Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England

13. Jared Payne – Ulster, Ireland

12. Robbie Henshaw – Leinster, Ireland

11. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England

10. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales

9. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland

1. Joe Marler – Harlequins, England

2. Rory Best (c) – Ulster, Ireland

3. Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England,

4. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland

5. Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England

6. James Haskell – Wasps, England

7. Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales

8. CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland


16. Kristian Dacey – Cardiff Blues, Wales

17. Allan Dell – Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland

18. Tomas Francis – Exeter Chiefs, Wales

19. Cory Hill – Newport Gwent Dragons, Wales

20. Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales

21. Gareth Davies – Scarlets, Wales

22. Finn Russell – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland

23. Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland