Lions & Maori All Blacks Teams Named

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at [email protected]
Jason Hennessy

Warren Gatland has named his Lions team for Saturday’s clash with the Maori All Blacks with Peter O’Mahony set to captain the side.

The Munster skipper follows Sam Warburton, Ken Owens and Alun Wyn Jones in leading the 2017 Lions in what has been billed the ‘4th Test’.

O’Mahony will be joined in the back-row by Sean O’Brien and Toby Faletau, with Sam Warburton having to make do with a spot on the bench.

“Peter is a proven captain with Munster who never takes a backward step and we believe that those leadership qualities will serve us well on Saturday against a quality and determined Maori All Blacks team.” Gatland said

British & Irish Lions Team

15. Leigh Halfpenny
14. Anthony Watson
13. Jonathan Davies
12. Ben Te’o
11. George North
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Jamie George
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Maro Itoje
5. George Kruis
6. Peter O’Mahony (capt)
7. Sean O’Brien
8. Taulupe Faletau

16. Ken Owens
17. Jack McGrath
18. Kyle Sinckler
19. Iain Henderson
20. Sam Warburton
21. Greig Laidlaw
22. Owen Farrell
23. Elliot Daly

Maori All Blacks Team

1. Kane Hames – Tasman (Ngai Tuhoe/Ngati Porou)
2. Ash Dixon (captain) – Hawke’s Bay (Ngati Tahinga)
3. Ben May – Hawke’s Bay (Ngati Maniapoto/Tainui)
4. Joe Wheeler – Tasman (Ngai Tahu)
5. Tom Franklin – Bay of Plenty (Ngati Maniapoto)
6. Akira Ioane – Auckland (Ngapuhi/Te Whanau a Apanui)
7. Elliot Dixon – Southland (Ngapuhi)
8. Liam Messam – Waikato (Ngai Tuhoe)
9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow – Waikato (Waikato/Ngati Maniapoto)
10. Damian McKenzie – Waikato (Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Tahinga)
11. Rieko Ioane – Auckland (Ngapuhi/Te Whanau a Apanui)
12. Charlie Ngatai – Taranaki (Ngati Porou/Te Whanau a Apanui/Te Whakatohea)
13. Matt Proctor – Wellington (Ngapuhi/Ngaiterangi)
14. Nehe Milner-Skudder – Manawatu (Ngati Porou/Tapuika)
15. James Lowe – Tasman (Ngapuhi/Ngai Te Rangi)

16. Hikawera Elliot – Counties Manukau (Ngati Awa)
17. Chris Eves – Manawatu (Waikato/Tainui)
18. Marcel Renata – Auckland (Ngati Whanaunga/Te Aupouri
19. Leighton Price – Taranaki (Waikato/Ngati Maniapoto)
20. Kara Pryor – Northland (Ngati Awa/Ngati Pikiao/Ngati Rangitihi)
21. Bryn Hall* – North Harbour (Ngati Ranginui)
22. Ihaia West – Hawke’s Bay (Ngati Kahungunu/Ngati Porou)
23. Rob Thompson* – Canterbury (Ngati Kahungunu)