EPCR Release Statement Stating Connacht’s Winning Try Should Not Have Stood
European Professional Club Rugby have revealed that Connacht’s last minute winning try in their Champions Cup pool game with Wasps should not have stood.
Connacht secured a famous win thanks to a last-minute try from a maul by debutant back row Naulia Dawai that was converted by Jack Carty, but the EPCR have now confirmed that the try should not have stood as a result of a mistake by the replacement referee.
Jerome Garces was forced to leave the field as a result of a hamstring problem with his assistant taking over. The new referee allowed Connacht to take a lineout despite the time being up, which resulted in the winning try.
Here’s the statement in full.
EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday’s European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground.
The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.
However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.
EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.
Madness that something like this has happened at such a high level of the game, but Connacht fans won’t be complaining!
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- You Can Now Find Us At RugbyLAD.ie - November 15, 2017
- Disappointment For Jack Nowell As the World Cup Countdown Begins - November 13, 2017
- Wales Release New Alternate Kit With Massive Striking Difference To Home Kit - November 13, 2017