Breaking: Your 2016 World Rugby Player Of The Year Is…

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor at RugbyLAD. Any queries big or small you can reach him at [email protected]
Jason Hennessy

Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)


The World Rugby Awards are currently taking place in London.

This week rugby’s governing body revealed a six-man shortlist for World Player Of The Year, with Ireland’s Jamie Heaslip among the nominees for the prestigious award, along with Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), Dane Coles (New Zealand), Owen Farrell (England) Maro Itoje (England) and Billy Vunipola (England).

Heaslip has been in fine form for both club and country over the past year, while New Zealand pair Beauden Barrett and Dane Coles have both risen their game to world class level in the past few months.


Saracens trio of Farrell, Itoje and Billy Vunipola have all been in brilliant form for club and country, lifting the Aviva Premiership, Champions Cup and Six Nations over the past few months.

The votes are now in, and the 2016 World Rugby Player of the year is…